Want this space?
Tell me more


Notice of Motions to be received by Bowls Hawke's Bay by 20th May.   BHB Closing and Prize-giving Sunday 18 May - see details below    BHB 'Woolsale' Sunday 25 May 1.30 - at Omarunui
We Will Remember Them!
Bowls Hawke's Bay
P O Box 8780
Havelock North 4157
Carole Miller, Administration Officer
06 877 7225


Welcome to Bowls Hawke's Bay

Follow us on facebook

Click underlined link above to go directly to BHB Facebook page.
Add your comments and feedback, share and tag photos

This site was last updated - 24 April 2014

Important Notices
  • Bowls Hawke’s Bay Closing and Prize-giving will be held Sunday 18 May – see further details – HERE  Please note the change of date.

  • Bowls Hawke’s Bay “Woolsale” will be held at Omarunui 1.30pm Sunday 25 May.

  • Notice of motions must be received by Bowls Hawke’s Bay by 20 May.

1st YEAR Singles REVISED DRAW see 'Draws/Interclub' tab or  Click Here for draw chart

District Shield Draw - see 'Draws/Interclub' page - or HERE

‘What’s on’ this weekend?

(1) The District Shield will be held at Bowls Napier and Port Ahuriri on Saturday and Sunday 26-27 April – 9am.

With the Heretaunga side not including Murray Glassey, Jim Bentley or Paul Selby, Taradale without Jack Philip - and Dave Stevenson, Fred Ellison, Jim Hagen and Ces Bell’s names not featuring in the Bowls Napier line-up (Napier trophy holders), the competition could be wide open and upsets may occur.
Section 1 at Napier
1 Napier. 2 Taradale. 3 Havelock North.  4 Kia Toa.  5 Bluff Hill.  6 National Service.
Section 2 at Port Ahuriri
1 Omarunui.  2 Waipawa.  3 Waipukurau.  4  Port Ahuriri.  5 Heretaunga.  6 Bay View

(2) Men’s and Women’s First Year Singles will be played at Bowls Taradale on Sunday 27th April 9am.

Women’s 1st Year Singles (Bainbridge Cup)
Kia Toa’s Jackie Morgan won this event last year – who will be the winner this year?
The contenders are; 1. B. Caccioppoli, 2. S. Redman, 3. P. McGrail, 4. M. Baker, 5. C. Francis.

Men’s 1st Year Singles (Fowler Shield)
Alan Mettrick, Taradale, was the winner of this event 2012-13.
Richard Rangi (National Service) has been observed gaining experience ‘out-and-about’, and Heretaunga’s Lyndon Carrington’s previous indoor bowls involvement will ensure that he too is among the contenders for this sought after title.

REVISED Men’s First Year Singles participants

Men’s Section
6. P. Brown  7. J. Ludlam  8. R. Rangi  9. T. Caccioppoli  10. B. Wilkinson 11. J. Moulder  12. R. Yanko 13. D. Lever  14. J. Thompson  15. K. Bayliss16. L. Carrington  17. K. Redman

(3) Bowls Heretaunga Inaugural two-day Women’s Fours Saturday and Sunday 26-27 April 8.45am
A capacity sixteen teams will compete in this new event on the bowling calendar, which is to be being played at the same weekend as BHB’s  Men’s District Shield and the First Year Singles.

Entries have been received from Feilding, Palmerston North, Northern (including members of the winning National Interclub 2nd Division), Waitoa (between Morrinsville and Te Aroha) and Auckland.
Local skips entered; Dot Palmer and Jeanette Drieberg (Omarunui),  Angela Boyd  (Taradale),  Liffy Law, and  Marie Walker (Havelock North), Barbara Clark and Beryl Skidmore (Bay View), Patsy Fraser (Kia Toa), Asi To’omata and Chris Telford (Napier),  Ineke Van Leeuwen (Heretaunga) and the composite quartet of Glenys Riddell and Elaine Wiggins (Heretaunga) which includes two Auckland players.

New Zealand Commonwealth Games Lawn Bowls Team  - see News' page.

POSITIONS AVAILABLE at Bowls Hawke's Bay - applications close 23 April see details HERE
Find ALL Position Descriptions and other details on 'Documents' tab.

BHB Junior Men’s Champion of Champion Pairs (Alma & Stan Watson Cup) will be held at Taradale Saturday 19 April 2014 at 9am.
Officials – Peter Strother (Controller) and Sherrill Taylor (Umpire).
Two years ago, Gavin Keighley was the Lead in the winning combination of this event with Paul Harrison (s), and today he skipped club mate and club vice-president Kim Ballard, to another victory - this time over the left-handed duo of Greg Hodges and Bryan Doyle (Havelock North) 19-15.  Word has it that Keighley played exceptional Skip bowls to assist his team achieve victory.

BHB Junior Men’s Champion of Champion Singles (Onley Cup) to be held at Taradale Sunday 20 April 2014 at 9am.
Champion of Champion Junior Singles at Taradale – Sunday 20 April 2014.
Officials – Peter Strother and Robin Oates.
Semi-finals –
Bay View (Paul Viggers) defeated Waipukurau (Jim Isaacson)
Heretaunga (Gavin Keighley) defeated Kia Toa (Grant Hall)
Final – Paul Viggers defeated Gavin Keighley 21-6.
After playing for just over a year, Viggers showed his natural talent and consistency by winning this event, and in being in the semi-finals of the Junior Pairs yesterday.  The same can be said of Keighley who featured in both finals.  Congratulations to both players.
Thanks to our roving reporter Sheryl Ann for the photograph.  Left, Paul Viggers with Gavin Keighley.

Kittyhawk,18-21 April 2014 at Pakuranga, Auckland.
Final Results; - see 'News' page

Bowls New Zealand 2014-15 Programme (2 pages) see HERE

An online entry form is available on this site, go to "Online Entry Form" tab above - or,  HERE


Gisborne - Results of the 105th Beetham Lifestyle Village Burton Cup Optional Triples (28 teams)
Winners - Steve Goldsbury (skip), Robin Jefferson,  Janet Munns (Gisborne BC)
Runners Up - Mere Fryer (skip), Sheryn Blake, Georgie Kahui-Rogers (Terrace End BC)
Third Equal - Ricky Miller (skip), Martin Christensen,  Mark Walker (Tolaga Bay BC); George Vaotuua (skip), Jessie Ann Law, Anita Vaotuua (Kahutia BC)
Plate Winners - Scott McGavin (skip), Shane Rogers,  Daryl Johnson (Composite Manawatu)
Makauri Cup Second Division
Winners - Glenys Whiteman (skip), Francie Adair,  Lesley McIntosh (Bowls Riverside)
Runners Up - Kristin Stampa (skip), Graham Fitzpatrick, Maureen Tamou (Composite)
Third Division Winners
Kerry Geertson (skip), Angus McCabe, Dave Richards (Composite)

Find notice of Umpire's AGM (Saturday 7 June) on 'Newsletters/Circulars/Minutes' tab - or HERE

Free Governance Workshop  Wed. 21 May - find more details on 'Newsletters/Circulars/Minutes' tab - or HERE

Bowls Omarunui have a new website - check it out HERE

You will find (1) (December) Central Regional newsletter, (2) BNZ Nov. Dec. Feb & April circulars, (3) Umpires August 'Jack-Up' newsletter, 4) Umpires latest minutes - on 'Newsletters/Circulars/Minutes' tab

For the latest in news around the greens in Hawke's Bay, listen to Phillip Stephens, Newstalk ZB 1278 AM between 7am - 8am every Saturday

Position not yet enabled to accept fundraising
Tell me more